Updated Privacy Statement

Application launching Performance on Full Layer Images

terranovashipping

Question

I am new to App Layer and still trying to optimize it.

There is a performance issue on a full layer image that applications which run for the first time takes enormous time to open.
E.g. for Word or Excel it requires 10s+ and many times users click multiple times the same icon which occurs for the same application to open 3 - 4 times.

Is there a guide or suggestions how to optimize the performance of the applications.

There is already a topic referring to this issue and the comment to that topic was that a delay is expected but I need to understand the whole mechanic behind it so I can try to optimize it as much as possible.

7 answers to this question

Its normal for some applications to take longer to open if elastic layering is enabled on the image.  This is because file present in the layers cannot be modified directly first they have to be copied to the writable layer on the desktop. So if an app modifies a bunch of files when it starts that makes the launch slow.  So whether your situation is abnormal or not is hard to tell. If there are no performance issues after the app is open I would assume your issue is normal. 

Is this desktops or session hosts. On session hosts any user can open the apps so you could script an autologon user that opens each app with a logon script and the app can run a macro that will wait a minute then close.   Its not simple to do so most customers just let the first user take a little longer to open the app. 

It's for Desktops, so there is not much that can be done.

Bad thing is that all users always have the behavior to close the app rather than close the file, and in many cases it leads to delay when opening a new file  or searching the correct content within multiple files.

Thanks for the detailed overview.

I was discussing with a colleague and trying to explain the process.

Please correct me if wrong.