Updated Privacy Statement

Office 365, Microsoft Teams, and OneDrive

Nick Panaccio

Question

Are there any recommendations with regards to which layer to include these components in? It looks like Teams is now included in the latest Office 365 C2R bits (from what I've read), so I was thinking that O365 and Teams go into the same layer, with OneDrive going into the OS layer. Anyone else doing something similar?

7 answers to this question

I was hoping somebody else was going to chime in here.  The rules I live by are, if it smells like Windows, put it in the OS layer, and if it smells like Office, put it in the Office layer.  So what you describe (OneDrive in SOS, Teams in Office) absolutely matches that.  But I have no direct experience with either.

Yeah, that's what I figured. I thought that since Teams was now included in the O365 deployment tool directly that they'd be using the per-machine installation, but it's still the old per-user install, so Teams will have to wait until Microsoft releases a VDI-friendly install. OneDrive might be a pain for me, because I went through a lot of trouble to remove all traces of it in my OS layer.

It's like the Pirate's code: they're more like guidelines anyway.  The real rule about "smells like Windows" is that if a piece of software is likely to be used as a prerequisite by multiple, independent app layers, put it in the OS layer.  .NET, MSVCRT modules, things like that that are fundamental enough that you know other programs will want to install them, pre-install them in the OS.