Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Hypervisor 8.2 vms constantly crashing

Ryan Haas

Question

Greetings.  I am fairly new to this product and I inherited this setup.  I have spent the last 3 days (and nights) dealing with an issue for one of our customers (work for an msp).  We have 2 hypervisor hosts in a pool (named ad02, ad03).  Issue started a few days ago when we had to shutdown the infrastructure because the SR (synology nas) needed an update.  Upon, bringing the infrastructure back, it was noted that the performance was slow.  

A few key vms (mostly on ad03) were constantly becoming unresponsive and or getting a bsod.  I know it is not my SR (synology) and I will get to that.  Even trying to power off a vm became problematic as it was just stay in a state of "paused/yellow" for hours on end.  Restarting the tool stack had little...if any effect.  When it would eventually enter in a state of "shut off", it could take a long time for the vm to even power on.  

Even trying to move the vm to the other host in the pool (ad02) would often not work.  It looks like it would be moved and you would try to power it on only to be in a state of yellow.  You power it back on, move back to ad03 and then you would be able to power it on.  Trying to reboot the hosts would also bring their own issues.  A rebooted host would stay in "maintenance mode" for hours and when you try to exit maintenance mode, xencenter would report that it is still booting.  Trying this directly on the server itself would also not work.