Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Handling multiple Applications when users belong to conflicting AD groups

Barry

Question

I'm new to WEM and currently testing it out on a test lab I've set up.

For Context
I'm trying to set up a shared system that will be used by multiple users at the same time.
100+ users will be added to an AD Group Win10 Users and by default all users should have Application A

There will come a time when a user can request access to Application B this is a more advanced version of Application A
The request will automatically add the user to a different AD group AppB for that specific application 
When the user logs into the desktop, Application A should not be deployed to the user if they are a member of both Win10 Users and AppB and they should only be able to see Application B

Users
User A
User B

Applications
Application A
Application B

Machine
Win10 VM

AD Groups
Win10 Users - User A and User B are both members
AppB - User B is a member

1. I have added both AD groups to the Active Directory Objects section via the WEM Admin console
  2. I've added both applications to Actions
  3. I've created a Filter Condition called AppB and set it to Enabled > Active Directory Group Match > AppB
  4. I've created a Filter Rule called AppB and set it to Enabled and added AppB to the Configured section
  5. I've assigned the Application A application to the Win10 VM group via Assignments via the Always True filter > Create Desktop Enable
  6. I've assigned the Application B application to the Win10 VM group via Assignments via the AppB filter > Create Desktop Enable
  7. To try and hide the Application A application from the AD group AppB users. I've added Application A to the AppB group via Assignments via Always True and set Create Desktop to Disable
  8. I've set the Priority of Win10 Users to 99 and left AppB at 100 to try to make the AppB Assignment run last so it hides the Application B, however, this does not happen