Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Session issue on Citrix Server VDA 7.13 - Windows 2012 R2

Roman88

Question

I'm not an expert on Citrix so I apologize in advance if I make any mistakes in describing the problem....

I have an environment consisting of 4 citrix servers: one is the delivery controller the other 3 have virtual Delivery Agent 7.13 installed and are part of a single delivery group.

One of these 3 servers is giving me issue: the server appear as "registered" on the controller console but no endpoint client is able to establish a connection with it, when the application seems to start on the client nothing happens and the connection is interrupted. 

From the controller console you can see how the client tries to establish the connection but it remains in "prelogon" state and then suddenly closes.

Any client that tries to open a session on this specific server behaves the same way.

For the moment I have set it to maintenance mode so that the clients are automatically redirected to the other 2 working Agent 7.13 but I need to fix this.

Removing from group and re adding it not fixing.

Connection to DC seems ok from VDA configuration wizard.

Any ideas on how to fix this behaviour?

1 answer to this question

Hi Roman. There are (too) many possible reasons as to why this might be happening and not enough data. like e.g are you using Provisioning services to boot your 3 VDA servers all from the exact same golden image every day or few days ? Or are they physical barebone servers of which the config of 1 may have become corrupt ?

Either way your best way is always to start with looking at logs:

1. On the delivery+Storefront server, look in the windows event viewer under the additional specific event viewers. You'll find one for the delivery controller component that logs any potential issues with the brokering process.

2. On the VDA servers, check the application and system event logs. Many times the error is easily visible there