Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Understanding GSLB Resiliency when DNS Views are used

DanM77

I have inherited a deployment and I am trying to understand what will happen to some of our GSLB'd services in the event of an outage of a HA pair, or loss of connectivity between HA pairs in a GSLB site. I'm new to ADC's implementation of GSLB so please bear with me.

An example of the setup is:

• 2 * GSLB Sites: Site A and Site B
  • Site A subnet: 192.168.1.X
  • Site B subnet: 192.168.2.X
  • Domain: service.example.com
  • A local GSLB service in each site:
    • Site A returns a public IP of 1.2.3.4
    • Site B returns a public IP of 2.3.4.5
  • A remote service in each site corresponding to the other sites local service
  • DNS Views configured on the services as follows:
    • Site A Local Service: If a connection comes from 192.168.1.X then the view returns the VIP 192.168.1.10
    • Site A Remote service: If a connection comes from 192.168.2.X then the view returns the VIP 192.168.2.10
    • Site B Local Service: If a connection comes from 192.168.2.X then the view returns the VIP 192.168.2.10
    • Site B Remote service: If a connection comes from 192.168.1.X then the view returns the VIP 192.168.1.10
  • GSLB is using STATICPROXIMITY and LEASTRESPONSETIME
  • Monitoring is configured on the load-balanced virtual server at the end of the VIP, not on any GSLB component.
  • ADC version: 12.1.63.22

In normal operations, external queries are given 1.2.3.4 or 2.3.4.5 depending on location. Internal clients always get the IP in their subnet. My questions are:

1. If I disable the Site A Remote service then force a client with IP 192.168.2.X to query Site A for service.example.com the client is returned an IP of 192.168.2.10. This is the correct IP but I don't understand how the Site A ADC is able to respond with the correct IP when I have disabled the remote service. Is this MEP at work because the service is still up on the Site B ADC?