Welcome to our new Citrix community!

First attempt at upgrading Xenserver 8.1 to 8.2LTSR

Andy White1709154166

Question

Hello,

I’ve been asked to upgrade the 2 x 8.1 Xenserver to 8.2 LTSR which sit in the same cluster.

1. I’ve never done this before and wonder how long it normally takes and do they both have to be upgraded at the same time as I’d like to keep some applications running on 1 Xenserver if possible?

Helps with my Change Request form with regards to down time.

2. Do you use the GUI to upgrade or console onto the system and upgrade from there as it seems I can do it 2 ways.

3. From what I read you can have 1 HyperVisor (Xenserver) on 8.1 and server users still, but upgrade the other to 8.2 LTSR, but you need to do the pool master first?

To update I read I can just do it from the GUI (XenXenter > Tools > Install Updates > Then in the download section). 

image.thumb.png.42a69b7219d389cf7b5afe2d17edfb34.png

Any help/advise would be great.

Thanks

3 answers to this question

Read all the update notes first to ensure something isn't going to bite you later, like something incompatible, a changed or removed feature, licensing / license server requirements, etc.

Make sure things like load balancing and high availability are all turned off beforehand.

The whole pool needs to be upgraded within a reasonable amount of time. Depending on what VMs to move to keep things running, it can take from a few hours to a better part of a day.

Once you start, there's really no going back. Weird partition tables and lac of space on dom0 can be issues. If you have a test VM, it's always a good idea to test an upgrade on it first, especially to be sure it's compatible (assuming you have the same or similar hardware).

Yes, the pool master gets the first upgrade. Not that when you have a pool with mixed upgraded and non-upgraded hots, you can only migrate from lower to newer versions of XS/CH, hence be careful to have enough capacity to shuffle things around.