Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Dedicated NIC for Storage

WC Jones

Question

Hello all,

I am new to Citrix Xencenter but not virtualization. I am doing some data migration and I am moving  away from fiber channel storage to NFS storage. My question is I have bonded nics(eth 4 and 6) and Bonded VM traffic(eth 5 and 7). I would like to use the VM traffic bond/interface to mount to NFS storage. I have configured the export on the allow the Ips I set for the (eth 5 and 7) but when I do a deep dive from the command line I see Xencenter using the management interface to connect. Is there any way to manually mount to the NFS server using the intended interface?

Xenserver .... 7 ( Dont kill me I am taking over for someone trying to get it in order :) )

Dell Isilon  H400

Flat network

22 answers to this question

That may just depend on your routing. If your NFS storage is on the same network as your Management interface or is accessible 

to a different network then its using the management interface default gateway to reach it. To use your VM traffic network then

it needs to be on the same accessible VM networks. 

--Alan--

Thanks for the response. So since the network if all flat no vlans is it possible to tell xencenter to use the specific interfaces for mounting NFS? When I put the Mgmnt IPs in the NFS export storage mounts. When I take those out and replace them with the IPs of the intended NFS interfaces it does not work due to permissions. 

Thanks

From what I can think in my mind you need separate networks for Management and Storage traffic.  You can do a flat network with your management and VM's because you make those assignments for the VM's for which networks to use. But for Management and Storage both at the host level you won't be able to make that distinction, your host will always use the Management interface for both. Separate networks so a route can be added to the routing table will be necessary. 

--Alan--