Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Citrix gives "freeze screens" to the users.

John Moscholios

Question

Hello there, 

I work as an IT Support in a company. So our partners provides Citrix Receiver via the browser, our users login with the partners credentials in order to work with the apps there. In our machines there is the latest Workspace 2012 update. *Note: In the partner Citrix Receiver environment on the browser there are also 2 RDP's(terminals) that users log in to. Most of the times the laptop "hangs" the screen freezes and only mouse is functional, so the user has to force shutdown from power button. (The "freeze" is caused from Terminal to Desktop). Any ideas?

4 answers to this question

Hello there,

Thanks for your reply. I will instruct the users to try this for sure instead of forcing a restart by the power button.

I'm trying to find out if this is happening also to users that owns the latest Windows update 20H2 and also I realised that it is not happening to users with old Citrix Workspace versions like Citrix Receiver 4.12 and older. 

Please let me know if you found another solution for this issues.

Best,

John

I know this is old thread but we off and on chased hang/freeze issues and turned out most of them went away by disabling hardware acceleration in the Citrix client workspace app (or ‘old school’ receiver).  There are just some odd situations where endpoint hardware/drivers or even something as odd as spinning disk vs ssd.. the endpoint hardware just can’t handle ‘accelerations’ for these ica/hdx client session decodes.  We’ve had similar issues with endpoint applications as well Edge, Chrome, MS Teams, other MS or other vendor apps. Apps just aren’t smart enough to know when their hardware accelerated activity will crash their app. 

https://support.citrix.com/article/CTX238334/citrix-hdx-engine-is-not-responding