Jump to content
Welcome to our new Citrix community!
  • 0

Block user access during Site upgrade - is it necessary?


Mike_B

Question

I currently manage a Site which is running 7.15 LTSR, and want to upgrade it to 1912 LTSR CU2.   All components are duplicated (Delivery Controllers and StoreFronts, anyway) and will be upgraded one at at time, so is it necessary to prevent user connections whilst the upgrade is being carried out?   It would be done out of hours overnight, but as a global company there are often a few people in very different timezones using it - but some times are much quieter than others.

 

Documented procedure for upgrades doesn't make any mention of it at all, so whilst that probably means there is no need to, thought I'd check on here for real-world experiences.

Edited by mburnst412
Clarify title
Link to comment

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Hi Kaspar,

 

Thanks for your reply.   That is indeed the way I would go about doing it - the question is, though - do I really need to?   I have users in India who are 5.5 hours ahead of me (I'm in UK time), and users in California who are 8 hours behind.  There really isn't much of the day where someone isn't using it.

 

So if I can avoid having to shut access to the Site down, I'd prefer not to.

 

Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...