Welcome to our new Citrix community!

UDP:443 (EDT) DDOS amplify attack against Citrix (NetScaler) Gateway

Alfredo Vazquez

Hi,

I am seen a lot of DDOS attacks against our VPX, We need to use DTLS in our environment, Do you know if there is any currently fix to stop this attack other than blocking DTLS on VPX or firewall?

https://www.meinekleinefarm.net/potentially-ongoing-worldwide-udp443-edt-ddos-amplify-attack-against-citrix-netscaler-gateway/

Please advice

1st to say: I have still not seen this DDOS attack on my system, so I have no experience with it.

I think, rate-limiting could help, but I'm not sure! Limit selector would be Top_CLIENTS (CLIENT.IP.SRC), and the limit identifier would be:

add ns limitIdentifier limit_IP -threshold 5 -timeSlice 300000 -selectorName Top_CLIENTS

add responder policy res_pol_DDOS "SYS.CHECK_LIMIT(\"limit_IP\")" DROP -logAction log_limit

This would allow 3 DTLS connections in 5 minutes.

ATTENTION: I don't try this. Probably this will mess up all DTLS connections, as it would count every UDP packet like a separate connection. I currently can't test, so you would need to give it a try.

Greetings from sunny (however, chilly) Austria

Johannes Norz

CTA, CCE-N, CCI

https://blog.norz.at

https://wonderkitchen.tech

• 2 weeks later...

I just today updated my testing environment Netscaler to the latest version 13 build (13.0-71.44), enabled the "HelloVerifyRequest" setting on the only DTLS policy on the Netscaler (the default policy) as per the instructions in CTX289674, re-enabled DTLS on the vserver, and finished up by re-enabling a rule on my firewall to allow UDP 443 through.  Almost immediately I saw a spike in traffic as I saw hits from foreign IP addresses again.  So, unless another reboot of the Netscaler is required to make the new setting effective, it did not appear to work for me.

10 hours ago, Lindsay Paoli said: