Jump to content
Welcome to our new Citrix community!
  • 0

Change in Behavior of MCSIO in 1912 CU1


Rahul Gupta1709158595

Question

We have a 7.15 CU5 environment with MCSIO enabled.

We recently upgraded to 1912 CU1.

 

Post the VDA upgrade, we noticed that any new files created on the VDA server (Server 2016) is not cleared if we restart the server from within windows.

However if we reboot the server from Studio or VMware, where the server actually goes through a shutdown and power on process, the files get cleared.

 

This seems to do with RAM cache, but there isn't much clarity about this on citrix blogs.

Anyone else facing the same and has any further insights?

 

Thanks in advance!

Link to comment

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Hi James,Thanks for the reply 

 

However, from the Citrix documentation, they do suggest upgrade from 7.15 ltsr directly to 1912. 

https://docs.citrix.com/en-us/citrix-virtual-apps-desktops/1912-ltsr/upgrade-migrate.html 

Only caveat they mention is if Pvd was installed earlier, then the upgrade cannot be done. In our case, PVd was not installed.

 

Question is the behavior as mentioned by you is expected, is not documented anywhere, or I haven't been able to find it.

How is it that a restart from within OS and one form Studio causes different persistent behavior.

 

Also, Is that an expected behavior in 1912 going forward?

Kindly share any further thoughts you have on the same.

 

 

Link to comment
  • 0

it's not documented, but do a clean install of the VDA and see what happens - this was direct from product management a little while back - the MCSIO engine did not cope with an upgrade very well (they may have fixed this but I wouldn't count on it)

 

a restart of the OS from the OS bypassed hypervisor controls, which is often tracked and leveraged by Citrix  to perform certain tasks or trigger certain activities - it's like release an MCS catalog update for example, if you reboot the machine from the OS it doesn't pick up the update, but when you reboot from studio then it does what it needs to do

Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...