Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Xen push storage data through management

Piotr Sajdak

Question

Hi. I'm quite new to Xen. I'm using XCP-ng in my homelab. Overlook:

I have 2 HP servers which both of them have two 1gb NIC's. I wanted to try some VM migration and because my switch supports only FastEthernet i figured out i can fix them in that way:

NIC0 <----> Switch <----> NIC0 (management adresses in 192.168.43.0/24)

NIC1 <----> NIC1 (storage network with adress pool 192.168.0.0/24)

So, management works ok no problems but main idea was to move VM's through network1 which contains 1gbps NICs. So i created external network1 with nic1 and nic1 included and tried to copy VM from host1 to host2. I had feeling it takes too long so i checked performance tab with networking and it's visible whole traffic goes through NIC0 to NIC0 (management network). I see it also in "ifconfig" directly on hosts that's using eth0(management).

I tried to do that when they were not in a pool, and later when they were in a pool and always go same way
Can it be becuase storage network gonna work only if i will have some shared disks(and not working while copying from local to local)?

I tried even deploying DVSC but then i feel like blind and also didn't find a way to use that NIC1 interfaces.

11 answers to this question

Yeah i choose there network which i created for storage there is even notification NOT to use management network. Whole xen install is almost fresh. Configured is only this what i written. There is 1 random vm with some default linux install just to be.

So i choose Network1 which contains NIC1 in both servers and im copying from local storage to local storage(can be this a source of problem? In fact my "storage network" contains only 2 ethernet cards nothing more)

I thought maybe there is misunderdtanding with some aliases but i checked size and time of copying and it exacts to FastEthernet. 

Bothe network0 and network1 are created by option external network.