App Layering Basics - Packaging Sophos (cloud)

Nicholas Innes

Question

Hi there,

I'm very new to App Layering and am currently trying to get a POC up for our local desktop support team.

We are a Citrix PVS environment (7.15 LTSR) running on VMware 6.5. ELM Version is 20.3.0.5

OS I'm working with is 2016

My Question / immense frustration is around this KMS gpo script that is setup when you run the machine tools. The GPO startup script is in place as expect and is running as it should.

When I have been packaging Sophos (using Citrix provided recipe https://docs.citrix.com/en-us/citrix-app-layering/4/layer/layer-antivirus-apps.html ) I can't seem to reliably get the services to start up.

I have put debugging echo statements in the kmssetup.cmd script to allow me to follow the flow of the script during boot up. I'm happy to concede this may be the start of the "you're doing it wrong" phase. :)

The instructions for the recipe say i need to add the service startup batch code in the "Run after every boot" section. Which I do. If I put debugging echo statements around this area, I notice that I never see the debugging output and that the script enters a different chunk of code (IF EXIST Setup_cleanup, line 378 ish) which has the goto END at the end of it, bypassing the RUN EVERY BOOT section.

e.g.

REM --------------------------------------------
	REM COMMANDS TO RUN EVERY BOOT AFTER FIRST BOOT
	REM --------------------------------------------

REM Here we will activate if this is a kms destkop every boot.  Note we alsways call the script but
	REM if non KMS the script will not contain activation commands
	REM To add commands that run on every boot add after the call runipkato
	@echo "Starting Sophos Services Section" >> c:\admin\kms-script.txt	
	@echo %time% >> c:\admin\kms-script.txt

REM Change Sophos Service to Automatic - once

If EXIST SophosSetup1.cmd (
	echo !date!-!time!-kmssetup.cmd:Call
	SophosSetup.cmd >> SophosSetuplog.txt