Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Queries on Netscaler LB (GSLB Related and Other )

Sudhir Bhagat

Dear Experts, 

I am new to Netscaler Load Balancer platform and have to start working on a Data Center migration project shortly...Where have to migrate from F5 to Netscaler LB (VPX). Having certain queries. requesting help from you guys to get clarity or solution.

1- What is the equivalent term of "Listener IP" and Wide IP (as like in F5) in Netscaler.

2- What are ADNS IP , NSIP ,  SNIP , SNIP (GSLB Site IP) in Netscaler, if we compare these with F5 terms.

3- On What Basis , netscaler (GSLB) decide that which Date Center will serve the user request. 

4- there is a concept of member ratio or member order under GSLB wide IP in F5, member ratio configured with "0" will serve the request. What is the equivalent feature in Netscaler which decide which Netscaler/DC will respond to user (i.e. DC where app is active). 

Apart from these  above general queries, i am looking and searching for below :

5- Proposed is - 02 Data Centers (DC-1 & DC-2) to be configure in ACTIVE-PASSIVE mode . Each DC have only 01 perimeter(DMZ) FW , 01 Internal FW , 01 DMZ Netscaler LB and 01 Internal Netscaler LB .

In existing data centers , Scenario is  that few applications(websites) are Active On  OR  Served by DC-1 and standby in other DC-2 while  some of the applications(websites) are Active on OR Served by DC-2 and remain in passive state in other DC i.e. DC-1.  So as per understanding this is Sort of -  load Balancer in Active-Active in GSLB  prospect  (i.e ready to take and process user hits) but Active-Passive in sense of Websites. Can anyone please help me out to get the practical solution or good documents for this requirement. remember a Point - Both new Data centers to be configure in ACTIVE-PASSIVE mode (in terms of Firewalls Cluster).