Welcome to our new Citrix community!

GSLB and pinpoint DNS zone with MS DNS

Kari Ruissalo

Hi,

I'm rather new to GSLB but am now implementing several environments and I need to get my head around one thing.

I have already completed the GSLB eLearning and read through Carl Stalhoods great article about setting up GSLB and the DNS delegation part (https://www.carlstalhood.com/global-server-load-balancing-gslb-netscaler-12/#dnsdelegation).

The DNS delegation seems to cover mainly the whole DNS zone, but we're often implementing a split-DNS scenario, where the clients always connect to for example applications.company.com address, whether they are working from the internal network or internet. To achieve this, we often need to create a "pinpoint DNS zone" (=single record DNS zone) for the internal DNS for that specific record. We do this to only direct the internal DNS queries to an internal GW IP rather than the public one and this also allows us to avoid replicating all the DNS records from the top-level domain (company.com.) to to internal DNS (often hosted by MS AD integrated DNS).

However, we now noticed that if we create a pinpoint DNS zone and delegate that zone to the ADC hosted ADNS IP, the name lookup doesn't pass through.

We figured out to create a conditional forwarder instead for that specific record (applications.company.com), which seems to be working perfectly. Are there any downsides with this approach?

Delegating a single record is actually the same as for delegating a zone.

Imagine you have "mysite.com".... and your DNS lists the "www.mysite.com" and a few other records, including the "mysite.com" one.

Now imagine you want to delegate the "remote.mysite.com" zone: you create a couple of NS records to point "remote" to the Netscaler's DNS.... the DNS doesn't care if it's a zone (eg user will go to "a.remote.mysite.com" or just to "remote.mysite.com".