Jump to content
Welcome to our new Citrix community!
  • 0

In place upgrade to CVA 1909 from XA 7.18 where there is more than one Storefront server in the Server group


Christopher Yue

Question

Environment
XA 7.18
VDA 1906 (on server 2019)
MCS for provisioning
VMware vSphere 6.5
1 x Site DB server
2 x StoreFront servers (also acting as Delivery Controllers at the same time)
1 x server group


Pre-upgrade question

I have looked at the upgrade sequence documentation from Citrix:- 
https://docs.citrix.com/en-us/citrix-virtual-apps-desktops/upgrade-migrate/upgrade.html

 

In the past, I had problems upgrading one of the Storefront servers and the advice from Citrix support at that time was to remove all the servers from the server group and upgrade one at a time.

 

Once all the Storefront servers on the higher base level, re-add back the server to the group.

 

Q.
Do I still need to do this or should it be possible to safely in-place upgrade the Storefront servers whilst still in a server group as the procedure is perhaps more reliable?


 

Link to comment

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
On 11/6/2019 at 2:34 PM, Christopher Yue said:

Environment
XA 7.18
VDA 1906 (on server 2019)
MCS for provisioning
VMware vSphere 6.5
1 x Site DB server
2 x StoreFront servers (also acting as Delivery Controllers at the same time)
1 x server group


Pre-upgrade question

I have looked at the upgrade sequence documentation from Citrix:- 
https://docs.citrix.com/en-us/citrix-virtual-apps-desktops/upgrade-migrate/upgrade.html

 

In the past, I had problems upgrading one of the Storefront servers and the advice from Citrix support at that time was to remove all the servers from the server group and upgrade one at a time.

 

Once all the Storefront servers on the higher base level, re-add back the server to the group.

 

Q.
Do I still need to do this or should it be possible to safely in-place upgrade the Storefront servers whilst still in a server group as the procedure is perhaps more reliable?


 

I have done the upgrade without breaking the Storefront config sync. but still safer to actually remove it first.

 

keep in mind that if you run the installer on the shared SF/DDC machines, both components will be upgraded. 

Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...