Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Citrix XenServer & HPE SY480 Compute Module - Nic Team Issues (Server not reachable - unable to add Server to XenCenter & configure NIC teaming).

Mehal Patel

Question

Hi All

Hope you're doing good.

I'm new to this and could really do with some help on an issue being seen. Below are the solutions active in this design:

- Servers - HPE Synergy 480 Compute Module

- Network Switches - Cisco Catalyst 6880-X-LE

- HyperVisor - Citrix XenServer 7.1 CU2

I'm trying to add XenServer (PG.....P201.PGDS.......) to the XenCenter in order to then configure NIC Teaming. However, when I try to ping the server, the request times out and cannot reach the Server. On OneView, (which is the GUI Tool used to manage Synergy) I get an error saying that there's an error on the downlink port from the Synergy Virtual Connect, to the Synergy 480 Compute Module. 

Not sure how familiar/experienced you are with HPE Synergy & HPE OneView, but this is the resolution message I get to the error seen:

Resolution - Verify the switch-assisted load-balancing using 802.1AD/LACP based NIC teaming is configured on the server PG51ONVP12_CZJ92909CV, bay 1.

Hoping you can help out here. Thanks. :)

Regards,

Mehal 

5 answers to this question

Don't know anything about your hardware. But you definitely need to start simple and work forward.

When you are adding the server to XenCenter is it a single nic for the management interface?  If not

I would do that first then work on bonding. Definitely could be some configuration causing the

issue. 

--Alan--

I've got a smilar issue with XenServer 7.1 CU2 -> I upgraded a server to the latest pachlevel of 7.1 yesterday and suddenly I've lost network-connection. I also have a bond for the 2 NICs; it all worked normally until the latest patch. To be clear; server was behind on patches; so I believe it was the last 7 updates or so.