Welcome to our new Citrix community!

App Layering Agent - Installation question

John Francis1709160537

Question

I am new to this and I am trying to understand where to install this agent and machine tools. The article below is from Citrix document. 

As a result, you need to install the agent in the following locations, based on your hypervisor, provisioning service, and whether or not you use your connector configurations to run scripts:

On servers you plan to use for layer creation or image publishing - What does this mean? On servers that you plan to use for layer creation? Do I need to create a separate server (windows server) an install the agent which I can use for layer creation?

If using Citrix Provisioning, on the provisioning servers where you plan to publish layered images. - We are using provisioning services, so should I install this agent on the PVS server? Only 1 or both?

In locations where your connector configurations will run Powershell scripts - Not sure what does it mean by connector configuration.

19 answers to this question

Hello,

Our firewall ports page, link at the bottom, has the below listed:

App Layering agent
Agent server to appliance - Port 443 - Registration/HTTPS
Agent server to agent server - Port 8016 - Commands from appliance/SOAP
Agent server to appliance - Port 8787 - Log export
Agent server to appliance - Port 3009 - Citrix Provisioning Disk upload/HTTP
Agent server to appliance - Port 3509 - Citrix Provisioning Disk upload/HTTPS

As Rob noted, TCP 443 is used for registration and TCP 8016 for the communication during our various tasks. Yes, you do need 8016 open in the PVS host, and the PVS host(s) need to reach the ELM, appliance via TCP 443.

https://docs.citrix.com/en-us/citrix-app-layering/4/manage/firewall-ports.htm

What's the issue?  Run CMD, switch to the D: drive, CD into the appropriate folder on the D: drive, and run the command.  It's basically just these three lines:

D: