Welcome to our new Citrix community!

RADIUS "routing" to different access server

Hi guys,

i'm new to NetScaler (currently i'm using F5 balancer) and i need to do a test before considering a switch. I'm using an iRule on my F5 to redirect RADIUS access\accounting request to different server than default based on Username and Framed-IP-Address. I'm trying to understand how to replicate on the NetScaler. 

Essentialy i've create a:

- Content Switch Virtual Server (where i will route all radius traffic)

- Under AppExpert i've create a "String Maps" that is composed in this way:

username(numerical) -- radius access server (that will give a specific IP Pool)

- Create an action under CS called "CATCH USERNAME" that get only the first part of username (because i've this syntax: BLABLABLA@OTHER, i need just the first part), this action has this expression

CLIENT.UDP.RADIUS.USERNAME.BEFORE_REGEX(re#@#).MAP_STRING("IMEI_TEST_LIST"), as i've understood this exp should get the first part of username, check the string into the SM IMEI_TEST_LIST and give me the appropriate entry (in my case Radius AAA that should receive this packet)

Now i don't understand how to create a policy that essential:

- Get all access traffic and forward to a default pool, put a policy on it when catch an username inside the string map sent the packet to another RADIUS than default

The same approach shold be done also on the accounting packet, but this time based on the assigned IP address.

Can you help me or give me some hints?

Thanks!

Hi!

So you need to have a cs vserver and an  default lb vs server binded to it.

Then have a  cs policy that checks for that username is in that string map and content switch you to a different lb vserver

Something like this:

add cs vserver cs-test TCP 2.2.2.2 1812 -stateupdate ENABLED -cltTimeout 180 -caseSensitive OFF 

add cs policy cs_CATCH_USERNAME -rule "CLIENT.UDP.RADIUS.USERNAME.BEFORE_REGEX(re#@#).MAP_STRING("IMEI_TEST_LIST")"