Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Load Balancing Virtual Server to internal Layer 7 Load Balancer

Dear Citrix Community,

I'm pretty new to Netscaler Administration so maybe there is a simple way to resolve my issue but so far I haven't been able to find it.

This is the scenario I'm working on right now:

We're running version NS12.0 56.20.nc
We have web service running in the internal network. The service has to be accessed through an internal layer 7 load balancer. Let's call it loadbalancer.domain.local.
Based on the CNAME I use the load balancer knows which service I am trying to connect to. So I have a CNAME for the service. Let's call it servicecname.domain.local pointing to loadbalancer.domain.local.
When I have to access the service from the internal network I just use https://servicecname.domain.local and everything works fine.

This is where the Netscaler kicks in. My challenge is to publish the service to the Internet.
So I got a domain(let's call it service.domain.ext), a public IP address, a DNS record, NAT to a DMZ IP Address that I use as the IP address for a load balancing virtual server on the Netscaler.
Then I created a server under Traffic Management->Load Balancing->Servers
I created the service using the Domain Name servicecname.domain.local
In the next step I created a service based on the freshly created server under Traffic Management->Load Balancing->Services
I selected SSL as the protocol and 443 as the port. When I finished configuring the service I could already see that the service resolved the domain Name to an IP address.
The service comes up and I add it to a Load Balancing Virtual Server.

When I access the URL service.domain.ext I get redirected to the internal load balancer(I definitely reach the load balancer) but the load balancer doesn't know what to do with my request, most likely because the CNAME has been resolved to an IP address when creating the service.