Welcome to our new Citrix community!

How to update app layers with a new OS Layer

David Vinnedge1709158396

Question

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the app layering process and I have a general question.

We've got a Windows 10 Build 1703 OS layer.  All our app layers are based off the 1703 build layer.

Now we're testing out WIn 10 Build 1803.  So, we've got a new OS layer for 1803.  What is the best practice to "upgrade" the app layers over to the newer OS layer?

Do I just create a new version of the app layer and associate it with the newer OS layer?  Do I clone the app layer and then start building from there?  Do I do a fresh app layer based off the new 1803 OS build?  Are there any "gotcha's" to simply updating the App Layer to the new OS build?  Would something like office 2016\365 behave well just updating it to the 1803 OS build?

Part of me thinks I should be fine just updating the App Layers to the new OS build.  Then again Microsoft likes to put all kinds of new stuff\shuffle things around whenever they come out with a new OS build and so maybe just updating the App Layer to the new OS build might cause unintended consequences....  Just looking for what the best practice is for something like this.

Thank you for your responses!

7 answers to this question

hi René,

If you create a "new" OS layer you will have to recreate all your layers.  Layers go with the OS layer they are created with.  So you don't want to create  new one you want to add a version to your existing one and upgrade it.  I normally do this by downloading a new ISO and using that on the new version packaging machine.  Remember to make sure the image size for the new version is big enough to handle the upgrade and don't remove the Windows.old folder we will do that after we copy what we need out of it.

Rob

• Like 1