Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Layered Image - Office 2016 Will Not Activate On First Boot

Jeff Perry1709155334

Question

Hypervisor: Nutanix AHV 5.52

Provisioning Method: MCS (XenDesktop/XenApp 7.15 CU2)

OS Layer: Windows 10 Enterprise x64 (Build 1709)

App Layer: Office 2016 Pro Plus x86

ELM Version: 4.12 (Upgraded from 4.11 where issue was also present)

I'm relatively new to app layering. Have looked at many many guides on how to publish Windows 10 & Office 2016, but have not yet successfully deployed an image where Office 2016 will activate properly.

Suspected issue: Across all the Win10/Office2016 images I've published from many many iterations of deleting & creating OS layers & Office App Layers & applying fixes & suggestions found online, I seem to always hit the following wall..   I verify after logging in to the resulting provisioned VMs & checking the ActivateOffice_log.txt file, it shows, what I assume is the \FromLayer\data.dat file did not copy to the store (Access Denied). This is not the same error many others see when logging in too early before the activation scripts run, stating it is in use by another process.

Here's what the script shows:

7/19/2018 3:41:43 PM - Wait for Service 'sppsvc' to get to State Stopped

7/19/2018 3:41:43 PM - Service 'sppsvc' State Stopped

Thu 07/19/2018-15:41:43.56- Copy the files from the layer into the 2.0 directory

Access is denied.

0 files(s) copied.

1 file(s) copied.

Further down it states: The Software Licensing Service reported that the product key is invalid.

Then further down, "<No installed product keys detected>.

If I reboot the VM via the OS or Hypervisor (so MCS doesn't reset it), Then office activates fine (I do not see additional file store file copy entries in the ActivateOffice_log.txt file.

If I shutdown & startup via Studio controls (VM is refreshed) it again fails office activation.