Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Unable to Delete Resources: There is currently an active background action

Jason Moran1709154312

Question

Hello

After reading and performing the steps in CTX138318, I have encountered a very large number of tasks that need to have the commands Stop-ProvTask -TaskID "Put-Here-Your-Task-ID" and Remove-ProvTask -TaskID "Put-Here-Your-Task-ID" run against them.

I am still learning powershell, can anyone help me with automate this process with the commands Get-ProvTask | Where-Object {$_.ImagestoDelete | Where-Object { $_.HostingUnit -eq "Put-Here-Your-Hosting-ID"}} along with the 2 previously mentions commands?

Jason

11 answers to this question

Do you have any Catalogs using the Connection still? If so delete these and try removing the tasks again before proceeding...

After deleting any catalog that could be using the connection you may need to just resort to PowerShell to remove the connections (Perhaps MCS or Studio has gotten mixed up with background task due to not being able to use the connection anymore).

Add-PSSnapin Citrix.Broker.Admin.V2

Add-PSSnapin Citrix.Host.Admin.V2

Remove-Item -path "xdhyp:\HostingUnits\[HostingUnitName]"

Remove-BrokerHypervisorConnection -Name "[ConnectionName]"

Remove-Item -path  "xdhyp:\Connections\[ConnectionName]"

If you refresh the nodes in studio (or just restart studio) the connection should be removed.

• Like 8

Ok, I'd attempt a more brute force approach then. The following commands will remove all the tasks that used to belong to the hosting unit (resource) that you wish to delete (I don't think it's a question of limiting them to particular images).

• Add-PSSnapin Citrix.MachineCreation.Admin.V2
  • Get-ProvTask | Where-Object { $_.HostingUnit -eq "Put-Here-Your-Hosting-ID"} | Stop-ProvTask 
  • Get-ProvTask | Where-Object { $_.HostingUnit -eq "Put-Here-Your-Hosting-ID"} | Remove-ProvTask 

you can retrieve the hosting unit id by calling Get