Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Licenses needed to implement and use XenDesktop

Asrar Guna

Question

Hello Everybody,,

I am new to XD and have few queries before my company buys XD.

1) Is RDS license needed for XenDesktop? It is needed for XenApp. But if we only want to use XenDesktop Platinum edition then do we still need RDS? I think if we want to make apps available inside the virtual desktop through XenApp, then definitely we need RDS.

2) How does the microsoft licensing work with XenDesktop? If I want to provision 500 Win 8 virtual desktops, do I need 500 microsoft win 8 desktops licenses? Or only 1 license in the master image?

3) Is there any other license needed or just XD Platinum edition?

Thank You,

AG

12 answers to this question

1. Microsoft licenses are based on what machine users connect to. If they connect to a virtual desktop (Desktop OS) then they need VDA license or SA on the client OS. If they connect to RDSH (Server OS) then they need RDS CAL.

2.  Virtual desktops do not require any license on the hypervisor host (or VMs). However, the client devices that connect to VDI must be licensed with Microsoft Virtual Desktop Access license or have Software Assurance on their client operating system.

3.  Hypervisor needs to be licensed. If vSphere, you can buy vSphere for Desktops.

Microsoft licenses for virtual servers and virtual desktops are different. Microsoft licenses for virtual servers are bound to the hypervisor host, not the VM. If you move the VM to another host, the license does not move with it, and the destination host must have an available license that can be applied to the moved VM. Virtual desktops do not require any license on the hypervisor host since the licenses are instead assigned to the client device.

Best option is to build two hypervisor clusters:

• Desktop Cluster - runs virtual desktops only (no virtual servers). No Microsoft licenses needed on the cluster.