Welcome to our new Citrix community!

Rebooting a Provisioning Server

Mike Maggio

Question

I am new to Citrix Provisioning server and have a question about rebooting.

We have been told that the Provisioning servers needs to be rebooted about once a month. We have a load balanced envrionment which has two servers (though the load does not seem to get balanced evenly). What is the proper procedure to reboot one of the servers? Will vdisks automatically get redistributed during the process or do we need to do something manually?

Thanks in advance for the help.

15 answers to this question

I like to stop the stream service and watch my console and make sure my failover happens correctly before I then proceed to windows updates and a reboot. Just gives me a warm fuzzy feeling that if something goes wrong I can just start the stream service which is just a few seconds as opposed to a five minute reboot.

Alan Lantz
SysAdmin
City of Rogers, AR

• Like 2

Were you told why to reboot your PVS servers once per month? That makes no sense to me unless you're including the monthly patch cycle from Microsoft which requires a server reboot.

For load balancing, assuming multiple PVS servers can serve the vdisk and you're not using server-side caching directly onto a server, PVS servers can be rebooted without service interruption.

- Padraig.

• Like 1

The only interval for PVS Server reboot is what you want just like other windows servers. I am a security update freak, so monthly for me when the Windows updates come out. For the disks running from PVS you will want to cycle those frequently due to clear out the cache. I do those weekly which works for us. Others that have more read/write going on choose daily.

Alan Lantz

SysAdmin

City of Rogers, AR

• Like 1